De haut en bas et gauche à droite :
Marianne Muller, Marin Marais et l'ensemble Spirale

As a musician, I am fulfilled playing the viola da gamba, which has very diverse roles in a great variety of styles. Exploring them and sharing them is a source of endless joy.”

After completing a curriculum in Early Music at the Schola Cantorum in Paris, Marianne Muller chose the viola da gamba as the instrument with which she would  embark on her life as a musician. She went on to study with Wieland Kuijken at the Royal Conservatory in The Hague and received her solo degree.

A participant as well as a witness of the Baroque revival, Marianne Muller has long been active as an accomplished concert performer; her career has taken her around the world both as a soloist and as a chamber musician. Audiences have heard her perform with ensembles such as “Les Arts Florissants”, “La Chapelle Royale, Amalia, Hespèrion XXI, Les Eléments, Les Nièces de Rameau, Gilles Binchois, William Byrd, Akadêmia and Les Inventions.

In 2005, she created the musical ensemble  Spirale , thus giving a name to the group of musicians with whom she had been performing for many years already, exploring the solo repertoire for bass viola da gamba. Another major focus of her activity is music for viol consorts, which she plays on a regular basis as a member of the ensemble Les Fantaisistes.

Marianne’s fondness for the theater has often led her onstage,  in particular with the group Docteur Lully et Mister Haydnfounded by actress Catherine Thérouenne.

Other frequent performing partners include Françoise Lengellé, Chiara Banchini, Gilles Harlé, Alice Piérot and the ensemble Amarillis.

She also enjoys extending her repertoire to include contemporary music, creating many new compositions by Bruno Gillet, Eric Fischer and Thierry Tidrow, as well as playing for dance companies,  both baroque, in collaboration with Compagnie L’Éventail, under Marie-Geneviève Massé…) and contemporary .

In 2016, Marianne met accordionist Vincent Lhermet: together, they founded the ensemble les inAttendus, combining their talents in an unconventional but self-evident duet. Their endless curiosity has led them to roam through past and present repertoires together.

Marianne has taught viola da gamba since 1981, first in Toulouse and Cergy-Pontoise, near Paris, then at the Regional Conservatoire in Boulogne-Billancourt, opening the viola da gamba classes in the latter two. She has also taught at the Conservatoire National Supérieur de Musique et de Danse in Lyon, France, ever since the Early music Department was created there in 1988; since then she has never ceased to develop her teaching in new directions while continuing to probe the early-music-repertoire.  She is often called upon to teach master classes in French Conservatoires or for Academies both in France, in Barbastre, Nice and Sablé, Nice…) and abroad, in the United States, Israel, Mexico, Brazil, Switzerland, the Czech Republic, Germany and Spain.

Marianne has released a number of highly diverse recordings, many of which have received recognition and awards.

De haut en bas et gauche à droite :
Marianne Muller, Marin Marais et l'ensemble Spirale

"Comblée d'être musicienne grâce à la viole de gambe, instrument aux fonctions et aux styles infiniment variés : curiosité à les explorer sans cesse, en les partageant."

Après un cursus complet dans la classe d'instruments anciens de la Schola Cantorum de Paris, c'est la viole de gambe que Marianne Muller choisit pour continuer son chemin de musicienne. Elle se forme auprès de Wieland Kuijken (diplôme de soliste du Conservatoire Royal de La Haye)

Actrice et témoin du renouveau baroque, elle mène dès lors une carrière de concertiste qui la conduit dans le monde entier, tant par ses qualités de soliste que de chambriste. On a pu l'entendre dans des ensembles tels que Les Arts Florissants, La Chapelle Royale, Amalia, Hespèrion XXI, Les Eléments, Les Nièces de Rameau, Gilles Binchois, Willima Byrd, Akadêmia, Les Inventions...

En 2005, elle crée l'ensemble Spirale et donne ainsi un nom au groupe de musiciens avec lesquels elle se consacre depuis longtemps déjà au répertoire soliste de la basse de viole. La musique de consort de violes est aussi une part importante de son travail qu'elle pratique de manière régulière au sein de l'ensemble Les Fantaisistes.

Son goût particulier pour le théâtre l'a souvent menée sur scène. Elle a tout particulièrement participé à l'ensemble Docteur Lully et Mister Haydn qu'avait fondé la comédienne Catherine Thérouenne.

De plus, Marianne Muller joue régulièrement en compagnie de Françoise Lengellé, Chiara Banchini, l'ensemble Amarillis, Gilles Harlé, Alice Piérot...

Elle étend aussi volontiers son jeu vers la musique contemporaine (nombreuses créations de Bruno Gillet, Eric Fischer, Thierry Tidrow...) la danse baroque (collaboration avec la Cie L'Éventail, dirigée par Marie-Geneviève Massé...) de même que vers la danse actuelle.

Sa rencontre avec l’accordéoniste Vincent Lhermet a donné naissance en 2016 à un duo singulier et évident, les inAttendus, curieux d’explorer les répertoires d’hier et d’aujourd’hui.

Depuis 1981, elle est tout d'abord professeur à Toulouse et Cergy Pontoise (y ouvre la classe de viole de gambe ), puis au CRR de Boulogne-Billancourt (y ouvre la classe également ) Professeur au CNSMD de Lyon depuis la création du département de musique ancienne en 1988, Marianne Muller y développe avec plaisir une transmission qui continue de la questionner sur ce phénomène du répertoire ancien. Elle est régulièrement sollicitée pour des Masters Class en conservatoires ou pour des Académies en France (Barbastre, Sablé, Nice...) ou à l'étranger (États Unis, Israël, Mexique, Brésil, Suisse, Tchéquie, Allemagne, Espagne...)

Discographie généreuse et variée, souvent agréablement récompensée.