A presentation of the viola da gamba class at the Conservatoire National Supérieur de Musique et de Danse in Lyon, France

VIOLA DA GAMBA

Professor: Marianne Muller

The class, which opened in 1988, aims to approach all the different aspects of this many-faceted instrument. This is why the repertoire begins with the Renaissance and includes the consort, which is also taught on a weekly basis.

Considerable attention is paid to the vast baroque period, which saw the development of many varieties of solo or ‘obligato’ writing. This involves touching on the styles and techniques of many different countries in Europe and sometimes beyond.

Contemporary music is a welcome guest, making collaboration possible on occasion with the student composers within the conservatory. The class also meets with the dance department from time to time, usually with the contemporary dance section, for improvisation workshops where participants are free to follow their imagination.

Students have access to the following instruments, which belong to the conservatory: a quartet of Renaissance viols, a baroque septet, a violone, a seven-string baroque viol and a lirone. Also available are four vielles, which are used mainly in Pierre Hamon’s ensemble sessions and on specific occasions for master-classes.

For further information, please visit our web page: Département de Musiques Anciennes

I have always taken a lively interest in teaching; the experience I have been lucky enough to develop, teaching in many different music schools, has made me increasingly aware of how very important it is to pass on one’s knowledge.

The Conservatoire in Cergy-Pontoise, the Centre d’Etudes pour la Musique Ancienne and the Conservatoire in Toulouse, the Conservatoire in Boulogne-Billancourt and, since 1988, the National Conservatory in Lyon  have provided me with the opportunity to interact with many people, of all ages and skills, with equal pleasure.

What I find interesting in teaching the viola da gamba is of course the music, but even more fascinating are the individual students, different as they are, and as they remain. That is why I find my role and activity as a teacher to be so endlessly captivating and never repetitive. In France, we have been lucky in the sense that we have encountered no barriers to starting to teach children from as young an age as five or six. These students are now young adults to whom early music feels natural and who are entirely familiar with the viol.

But international experiences are no less fascinating. To see a self-taught young musician arrive from abroad, sometimes from halfway across the world, hoping to discover how to pursue what they have already started to imagine, is something of a gift for a teacher. The mingling of different cultures within the Conservatory in Lyon, in particular, obviously enriches the class, as well as the entire department, and this eventually spreads to the whole school. Training courses, academies and master-classes, be they in Barbastre, Jerusalem, Saintes, Mexico City, Los Angeles, Sablé, Juiz de Fora, Bremen or Nice, continue to draw viol-players who are as curious and diverse as ever.

he viola da gamba is one of those instruments that induce a highly asymmetrical posture. I have always paid attention to this and focused on finding a balanced position, one that will allow muscles to relax, which in turn allows greater freedom of movement and, as a consequence, also frees the imagination to blossom and flourish.

For imagination is necessary, as is a fine-tuned ear in order to discriminate between different repertoires by adapting one’s performance, without losing one’s personality. The three centuries of music spanned by the viol, not to mention contemporary composers, require detailed knowledge of every period and country.

See on Youtube a video of International Summer Academy of Nice.

Upcoming events

(FR) Master Class à La Haye

Friday 15 March 2019 -

Sorry, this entry is only available in French.

Koninklijk Conservatorium
Juliana Van Stolberglaan 1
Den Haag - Pays-Bas.

Présentation de la classe de viole au CNSMD de Lyon

VIOLE DE GAMBE

Responsable pédagogique : Marianne Muller

Ouverte dès 1988, la classe de viole tient à aborder l’ensemble des aspects de cet instrument aux multiples fonctions. Le répertoire commence donc à la Renaissance, incluant le consort dont l’enseignement est lui aussi hebdomadaire.

La vaste période baroque, qui développe une écriture soliste ou « obligée » extrêmement variée, est largement travaillée, touchant tous les styles et techniques de chacun des pays d’Europe et parfois au-delà.

La musique contemporaine est la bienvenue, permettant parfois des collaborations avec les étudiants compositeurs de l’établissement. La classe rencontre de temps en temps le département de danse, et plus spécifiquement de danse contemporaine, pour des ateliers libres de suivre l’imagination de chacun.

Le CNSMD met à la disposition des étudiants : un quatuor renaissance, un septuor baroque, un violone, une viole baroque à sept cordes et un lirone. Il existe aussi quatre vièles, dont une pratique suivie se fait principalement auprès de Pierre Hamon, en musique d’ensemble, et grâce à des master-classes.

Pour en savoir plus, rendez-vous sur notre Département de Musiques Anciennes

Depuis toujours intéressée par la transmission, l'expérience que j'ai eu la chance d'avoir en enseignant dans plusieurs établissements n'a fait que grandir à mes yeux l'importance de ce travail.

Le Conservatoire de Cergy-Pontoise, le Cepma puis le Conservatoire de Toulouse, le Conservatoire de Boulogne-Billancourt et enfin depuis 1988, le CNSMD de Lyon m'ont donné l'occasion de m'adresser à de multiples personnes, de tous âges, de tout niveaux avec le même plaisir.

Ce qui m'intéresse dans l'enseignement de la viole de gambe, c'est bien sûr la musique, mais ce sont d'abord les personnes, aussi différentes qu'elle puissent être et le rester ! Voilà ce qui rend cette profession, cette fonction, passionnante et jamais redondante. Nous avons eu la chance en France de ne trouver aucun obstacle à commencer les enfants de 5 ou 6 ans à la viole de gambe. Ces jeunes personnes sont maintenant de jeunes adultes pour qui la musique ancienne est naturelle et la viole tout à fait familière.

Mais l'international est aussi passionnant car, voir arriver de jeunes musiciens autodidactes, qui parfois viennent de l'autre bout du monde, pour découvrir la suite de ce qu'ils ont déjà imaginé, est une sorte de cadeau pour un professeur. Le mélange des cultures au sein du conservatoire de Lyon, notamment, enrichit bien sûr toute la classe, tout le département et l'établissement pas extension. Les stages, les académies, les master class que ce soit à Barbastre, à Jérusalem, à Saintes, à Mexico, à Los Angeles, à Sablé, à Juiz de Fora, à Bremen, à Nice... attirent des violistes toujours aussi divers et curieux.

La viole de gambe est un de ces instruments dont la posture est vraiment très asymétrique. Mon attention se pose depuis toujours sur ce point, cherchant un équilibre musculaire, une détente donc, et par conséquent une plus grande liberté, un bel imaginaire foisonnant.

Un imaginaire, certes, et aussi une fine écoute pour arriver, tout en gardant sa personnalité, à différencier des types de jeux suivant les répertoires abordés. Les trois siècles de musique que couvre la viole, sans compter les compositeurs d'aujourd'hui, exigent une vive connaissance de chaque époque et de chaque pays.

Voir sur Youtube une vidéo de Académie Internationale d’Été de Nice

Événements à venir

Master Class à Juvisy-sur-Orge

samedi 17 mars 2018 - dimanche 18 mars 2018

Ouverte à la classe d’Emily Audoin et aux élèves des environs, cette Master Class est publique. Elle s’adresse aux violistes et à la musique de chambre leurs correspondant.

Conservatoire à Rayonnement Intercommunal des Portes de l'Essonne
Site Marius Contant, Place Durix
91 260 Juvisy-sur-Orge
Salle Ballif
Renseignements au : 01 69 57 82 10